Weekly Writing Challenge: My Autistic Lense

14 Oct

This weeks writing challenge tells us to try something completely different. So what I have done is written a poem, from the eyes of an autistic child. I am trying to imagine what the world must look like from their point of view.

A small child under a table,

Another up a tree,

One screaming behind closed doors,

The world is too confusing for me.

 

People move to lessons,

Crowded noisy places,

Panic stations in my head,

I cannot cope with changes.

 

I wish I wasn’t autistic,

The world does not make sense,

People think that I’m ok,

Tell me to use my common sense.

 

I will conquer this confusion

I will learn the social rules

I will fit into society

And make them all look like fools.

To find out more about this weeks writing challenge, and read some post from other bloggers, follow this link.

2 Responses to “Weekly Writing Challenge: My Autistic Lense”

  1. gita4elamats October 14, 2012 at 05:13 #

    You ‘will conquer this confusion’!

  2. daydreamdaisies January 14, 2013 at 16:01 #

    What you write is very important! There’s lots of stigma still with ‘being different’, I have heard autism, for example, been called an illness in a very negative tone. So it’s great that you share the message that all people, special needs or not, are individuals with skills and emotions. Have you ever read Stuart: A Life Backwards? I found it to be a deeply touching book, dealing with muscular dystrophy, discrimination, violence, just very important problems that should be discussed in our society. Keep up your brave writing!

Leave a Reply

