Weekly Writing Challenge: A Picture Is Worth 1,000 Words.

5 Nov

I will tackle this challenge from an autistic child’s point of view, how I think they might interpret this image.

Confusion. so many thoughts running through my mind, I am struggling to organise them all.

  • Why is that man looking so cross?
  • Why are those children looking so cross?

They might not get any further than that, because Autistic children struggle with inference, which is what this whole task is based on.

If I was using this image in a lesson I might try to teach inference by asking:

  • Who do you think is taking this picture?
  • Are the people happy who are in the picture?
  • If you were made to stand and hold your dad’s hand while someone took a photo in your street, how would it make you feel?
  • Do you think that little girl chose to wear those clothes?
  • about 30 years ago, do you know where those people might be going if the children were made to dress up smart?

As a follow on I might then add this:

  • Who do you think is taking this picture? I think it might be their mother, or perhaps grandmother? She might think they look nice and smart, so wants a photograph
  • Are the people happy who are in the picture? I think they look a bit frustrated, perhaps they do not want to be stood there, perhaps they did not even want to be dressed up.
  • If you were made to stand and hold your dad’s hand while someone took a photo in your street, how would it make you feel? I think I might feel a little bit nervous. Sometimes that can look like scared, or angry, to other people. do you think that they might be nervous?
  • Do you think that little girl chose to wear those clothes? I think the children look quite young, the clothes look quite smart. Young children do not choose to wear smart clothes, do they? I think perhaps their mother bought them those clothes and they had no choice but to wear them. what do you think?
  • About 30 years ago, do you know where those people might be going if the children were made to dress up smart? When I was younger, my parents made me dress up smart and go to church on sunday. Do you think that is where they might be going? Why else might they have had to dress up smart like that?

How have you taught inference? What are your thoughts about how an autistic child might interpret this? Are you autistic? How did you initially interpret this picture? I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

