Inspirational English supply teacher

8 Jan

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse.

Being a teacher for over 16 years myself, I know what both staff and students think when a supply teacher rocks up in school. Oh. My. Gosh. thinks staff. Goooooodie! thinks student! 

richard 2nd

Derek Jacobi playing Richard 2nd

He introduced me to PJ O’Rourke,a hilariously funny travel journalist, he didn’t even need to, it wasn’t a set book. He was just so passionate about literature. I might be as bold as to say he could have been the difference between my pass, and the possible fail that I was facing in English A level. He was funny, passionate, inspirational, he lit up English literature for me. 

Thank you, whoever you were. I went on to incorporate English into my degree and now I teach it (amongst many other things!) 

Who’d have thought? 😉 

Leave a Reply

