Wow, I got a blog award!

16 Jan

I felt very honoured indeed when the email came in and it said that I was nominated for this award, how cool! I just write to share my experiences, hoping that it will go a small way to getting the special needs message out there, and help to make the world a slightly more equal place to live. This award is aimed at new bloggers, as a way of getting their blogs out there, a little bit like sharing the love.

liebster-award

Here are the rules:

1) You must thank the person who gave you this award

2) You must display the Liebster heart on your blog

3) You should nominate 3 to 5 up-and-coming blogs (some rule variations say 11) with less than 200 subscribers

4) Each person must post 11 things about themselves

5) Answer the questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you

6) Create 11 questions for those you nominate to answer

7) Notify your nominees and provide a link back to your post

8) And no tag backs (the point is to try and highlight new bloggers so let’s spread the support )

I would like to sincerely thank Sleepless in Autism for nominating me for this award. I feel very honoured that you write such kind words about me. 

11 Things about myself:

  1. As well as drive, I can ride a motorbike
  2. I always wanted to live in America, the land of proper defined weather seasons 
  3. I am a sun goddess
  4. I would love to do a sky dive
  5. Originally I wasn’t a special needs teacher at all
  6. I cannot ski to save my life
  7. Heavy Metal is the only way forwards! 
  8. I was for many years convinced that I was autistic too. Never been tested though
  9. I used to be able to play the piano
  10. I would love to be fluent in a second language 
  11. I really care what other people think about me

The questions I was given: 

1. What was your very first blog post about and what inspired it?

My very first post was about the fact that I discovered an autism test on facebook, took it, scoffed over the very high ‘you are autistic’ results, then was told by the autism advisor that this particular test was quite reliable. I was also reading Torey Hayden books and felt like I had a journey to tell also. 

2. If you could meet anyone and have lunch with them, who would it be?

Temple Grandin. She is such a fascinating person from what I have seen on videos I could think of a very long list of things I would like to talk to her about. 

3. What is the most important thing that you do every day?

Change lives. One small step at a time. 

4. What is your favourite thing to cook?

Vegetable tagine. Hearty low fat goodness!

5. What movie makes you cry?

Schindlers List: I read the book at school and was horrified. The film really does do it justice and get a very important message out.

6. If you could be a contestant on a game show, which one would it be?

Total wipeout, the games look like real good fun! 

7. Name one thing on your “bucket list”.

Visit New Orleans. I was planning a trip just before the horrendous hurricane that flattened it. Would love to go to the jazz capital of the world!

8. What is the best part of being you?

My never give up attitude to life.

9. What is your biggest vice?

My necessity to always see many sides of a problem, making me real bad at making decisions sometimes!

10. What’s your favourite new music find?

Ellie Goulding. Not the usual thing I would listen to, but I really like her. 

11. What’s your favourite food?

Cheese!

My nominees are: 

Fumbling through Autism: A mother’s honest account of her journey through autism, one mother and her daughter. 

Autisms and Aughtisms: A parents account of her experiences of parenting two boys, one with Autism sharing both stories and resource ideas. 

Dreamabiglife: Excellently witty and honest words from a mother of two girls, one with Retts syndrome

Questions for my nominees

  1. Name one thing that really makes you YOU
  2. If you could have politicians powers for a day, what would you do? 
  3. Who would you REALLY love to read your blog? 
  4. What is your biggest vice? 
  5. What is your greatest achievement? 
  6. Name your favourite book, why is it so good? 
  7. One quote that you live by…
  8. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why? 
  9. How would your best friend describe you?
  10. Stranded on a desert island, one luxury allowed only, what would it be and why?
  11. what is the funniest thing you have ever done?

Congratulations to all my nominees!! 

4 Responses to “Wow, I got a blog award!”

  1. Heavily Caffeinated Mommy January 16, 2013 at 21:09 #

    Congrats! And what wonderful nominees. I look forward to following their blogs also.

  2. cftc10 January 16, 2013 at 21:15 #

    Reblogged this on cftc10.

  3. Autism and Oughtisms January 17, 2013 at 04:06 #

    That was so kind of you thank you! Congratulations on getting the award yourself too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Liebster Award! | Autism & Oughtisms - January 17, 2013

    […] by someone who enjoys and wants to share my blog. I really appreciate each nomination, thank you Being Special, for thinking of […]

Leave a Reply

