Sweet 16: future dreams?

21 Jan

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

From the age of 16 I always wanted to be a teacher. The thing was, the only subject I was any good at was music. music teacher clipartFor many years that is what I taught, until one day a boy was brought to me, and the headteacher whispered ‘don’t worry about him, he will be out by Christmas’ That was the day I realised I was actually teaching thee wrong subject. It was special needs I should be doing.

I left that job, and that was the start of my journey into special needs teaching. I have been a special needs teacher for many more years that I have taught anything else, and each and every day brings nother small miracle, another small vitory, another small enlightening moment on the njourney to help all the students step a little closer to that independent life that they all want so badly.

I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

