What exactly is ‘happy’?

29 Jan

Have you ever been faced with trying to explain and teach what that means? That is what I discovered I had to get my head around today. 

smileyI had a group that I teaching about emotions. We have got past the what the face looks like and what it is telling us – stage, and we are easily able to match the word to the mood. But, when I discovered that a student then could not tell me what happy meant for them, I realised they had merely got this far by picture match and learn by rote. 

How on earth do you teach a child what happy is, when they cannot tell you what makes them happy? I pondered this all afternoon. I was still thinking about it as I walked home too. I am not sure what conclusion I came to actually. (If you have successfully taught this do tell me how!) 

I think what I will need to start with is getting the student to consistently choose an object they like, and try and associate the smile with that. Perhaps once we have got to there, we can move towards what the smile actually means, as I am now aware that the reaction within this student is innate rather than at the awareness level. 

I will let you know how I get on!

2 Responses to “What exactly is ‘happy’?”

  1. shaikfahadeng February 9, 2013 at 08:36 #

    Reblogged this on shaikfahadeng and commented:
    happiness is simply being able to cure your mind with the plain and noble thoughts….

    • Being Special February 9, 2013 at 18:32 #

      When the student isn’t even aware of what happy is or how it feels, there is a lot of work to be done before he can ever ‘cure his mind’

Leave a Reply

